Skip to main content

The lecture schedule will be updated as the term progresses.

Date Topic Required Readings Supplemental Videos
Wed, Jan 10, 2018 Course Intro / Text Classification and Sentiment Analysis Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 6 "Naive Bayes Classification and Sentiment"
Mon, Jan 15, 2018 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Observed (no classes)
Wed, Jan 17, 2018 Hands-on with Text Classification Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 2 "Regular Expressions, Text Normalization, Edit Distance"
Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 6 "Naive Bayes Classification and Sentiment"
Dan Jurafsky, Does This Vehicle Belong to You? Processing the Language of Policing for Improving Police-Community (10 minutes)
Wed, Jan 17, 2018 Quiz 1 Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 2 "Regular Expressions, Text Normalization, Edit Distance"
Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 6 "Naive Bayes Classification and Sentiment"
Mon, Jan 22, 2018 Vector Semantics by Anne Cocos Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 15 "Vector Semantics"
Chris Potts, Overview of distributed word representations (10 minutes)
Chris Potts, Vector comparison for distributed word representations (10 minutes)
Chris Potts, Matrix reweighting for distributed word representations (16 minutes)
Wed, Jan 24, 2018 Hands-on with Vector Space Models Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 16 "Semantics with Dense Vectors"
Chris Potts, Dimensionality reduction for distributed word representations (10 minutes)
Wed, Jan 24, 2018 Quiz 2 Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 15 "Vector Semantics"
Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 16 "Semantics with Dense Vectors"
Mon, Jan 29, 2018 Vector semantics chalk talk Jeff Mitchell and Mirella Lapata, Composition in Distributional Models of Semantics
Wed, Jan 31, 2018 Hands-on with Dense Vectors Chris Potts, Word-sense disambiuation for distributed word representations (7 minutes)
Laurens van der Maaten, Visualizing Data Using t-SNE (1 hour)
Wed, Jan 31, 2018 Quiz 3 Jeff Mitchell and Mirella Lapata, Composition in Distributional Models of Semantics
Mon, Feb 5, 2018 Language Modeling with N-Grams Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 4 "Language Modeling with N-Grams"
Wed, Feb 7, 2018 Hands-on with Language Models Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 8 "Neural Nets and Neural Language Models"
Wed, Feb 7, 2018 Quiz 4 Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 4 "Language Modeling with N-Grams"
Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 8 "Neural Nets and Neural Language Models"
Mon, Feb 12, 2018 Language Modeling with Neural Networks Bengio, Ducharme, Vincent, A Neural Probabilistic Language Model
Optional: Bengio, Ducharme, Vincent and Jauvin, A Neural Probabilistic Language Model (longer JMLR version)
Wed, Feb 14, 2018 Hands-on with Neural Network Language Models Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 7 "Logisitic Regression"
Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 8 "Neural Nets and Neural Language Models"
Andrej Karpathy, Vizualizing and Understanding Recurrent Neural Networks (40 minutes)
Wed, Feb 14, 2018 Quiz 5 Bengio, Ducharme, Vincent, A Neural Probabilistic Language Model
Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 7 "Logisitic Regression"
Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 8 "Neural Nets and Neural Language Models"
Fri, Feb 16, 2018 Drop period ends on Friday February 16
Mon, Feb 19, 2018 Hidden Markov Models by Nitish Gupta Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 9 "Hidden Markov Models"
Wed, Feb 21, 2018 Hands-on with Taggers Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 21 "Information Extraction" (Intro and Section 21.1)
Wed, Feb 21, 2018 Quiz 6 Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 9 "Hidden Markov Models"
Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 21 "Information Extraction" (Intro and Section 21.1)
Mon, Feb 26, 2018 Part of Speech Tagging Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 10 "Part of Speech Tagging"
Optional: Lera Boroditsky, Linguistic Relativity (Does Langauge Shape Thought?)
Optional: Lera Boroditsky, Lauren Schmidt, Webb Phillips, Sex, Syntax and Semantics
Schoolhouse Rock, Parts of Speech (3 minutes each)
Wed, Feb 28, 2018 Part of Speech Tagging continued Optional: Kevin Gimpel, Nathan Schneider, Brendan O’Connor, Dipanjan Das, Daniel Mills, Jacob Eisenstein, Michael Heilman, Dani Yogatama, Jeffrey Flanigan, and Noah A. Smith, Part-of-Speech Tagging for Twitter: Annotation, Features, and Experiments
Optional: Slav Petrov, Dipanjan Das, Ryan McDonald, A Universal Part-of-Speech Tagset
Wed, Feb 28, 2018 Context Free Grammars Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 11 "Formal Grammars of English"
Wed, Feb 28, 2018 No Quiz (good luck with your midterms!)
Mon, Mar 5, 2018 Spring Term Break (no classes March 3-11)
Wed, Mar 7, 2018 Spring Term Break (no classes March 3-11)
Mon, Mar 12, 2018 Term project planning
Wed, Mar 14, 2018 Information Extraction Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 21 "Information Extraction"
Ellie Pavlick, Heng Ji, Xiaoman Pan, and Chris Callison-Burch, The Gun Violence Database: A new task and data set for NLP
Mon, Mar 19, 2018 Quiz 7 Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 21 "Information Extraction" (Section 21.2)
Marti Hearst, Automatic Acquisition of Hyponyms from Large Text Corpora
Mon, Mar 19, 2018 Hands-on with Hypernym Discovery
Wed, Mar 21, 2018 Show Day (classes canceled because of the Nor'easter)
Mon, Mar 26, 2018 No quiz today (enjoy the snow)
Mon, Mar 26, 2018 Question Answering by Anne Cocos Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 28 "Question Answering"
Optional: David Ferrucci et al., Building Watson - An Overview of the DeepQA Project
Wed, Mar 28, 2018 WordNet and lexical semantics by Marianna Apidianaki Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 17 "Computing with Word Senses"
Optional: Diana McCarthy, Marianna Apidianaki, Katrin Erk, Word Sense Clustering and Clusterability
Fri, Mar 30, 2018 Last day to withdraw from a course is Friday March 30
Mon, Apr 2, 2018 Machine Translation Adam Lopez, Statistical Machine Translation
Optional: Ilya Pestov, A history of machine translation from the Cold War to deep learning
Wed, Apr 4, 2018 Sequence-to-sequence models by Reno Kriz and John Hewitt Optional: Graham Neubig, Neural Machine Translation and Sequence-to-sequence Models: A Tutorial
Optional: Philipp Koehn, Neural Machine Translation
Mon, Apr 9, 2018 Dialogue Systems by Daphne Ippolito Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 29 "Dialog Systems and Chatbots"
Wed, Apr 11, 2018 Low resource techniques by Stephen Mayhew
Mon, Apr 16, 2018 Data-driven Paraphrasing
Wed, Apr 18, 2018 final project presentations
Mon, Apr 23, 2018 final project presentations
Wed, Apr 25, 2018 final project presentations